applied automatically at checkout, valid for all DVDs on this website, excludes postage/shipping costs

Secure ordering

we use a secure, encrypted connection to keep your personal data safe

0 items
Special Offers

Serengeti Symphony - Region 2 Hugo van Lawick DVD

Serengeti Symphony - Region 2 Hugo van Lawick DVD
Click to enlarge
Price: £14.99
Availability: In Stock
Model: Region 2 DVD
Manufacturer: Nature Conservation Films
Average Rating: Not Rated

“Hugo van Lawick's moving epic of the cycles of life on the Serengeti, showing the vast landscapes of Africa and the lions, jackals, cheetah, giraffes, wildebeest and many other animals living there”

Serengeti Symphony is a spectacular nature film by Hugo van Lawick that shows the astounding landscape and exotic animals of the Serengeti National Park in Tanzania, East Africa.

It brings the beauty of Africa to life like never before, with close-up colourful images of the terrain and unimaginable glimpses of the wildlife, allowing the true character of the landscape and the grace and spirit of every animal to shine through.

This film shows an completely new way of filming. The sequences have been edited harmoniously with wildlife live sounds and popular classical music. It shows exciting and humorous situations, without getting bloody.

It begins and ends with a brief narration, but the power of this compassionate portrait lies in a deceptively simple combination of images and music.

The film shows a wide variety of animals such as lions, cheetahs, zebras, elephants, giraffes, crocodiles and many other species. Alternating we see the pure landscape, the exceptional skies end the beautiful light variations. The seasonal changes vary from tropical rainstorms to dessert-like dryness.

Serengeti Symphony is an ode to nature and shows wildlife in its widest variety. This film is Hugo van Lawick’s personal masterpiece, combining his decades of experience studying and filming wildlife, creating the most intimate portrait of natural animal life.

PLEASE NOTE: Serengeti Symphony contains two short narrations in Dutch, one at the start and one at the finish, but this takes up less than 5 minutes in total and barely detracts from the wonderful film and music.
The rest of the film (approx 75 mins) has no narration, just the ambient noise of the Serengeti and its animals, and carefully arranged classical music.
The music is from 18 different, popular classical compositions, incl Carnival of the Animals, In the Hall of the Mountain King, Midsummer Night’s Dream, 1812 Overture, etc.
This is an imported DVD - the description on the box/packaging and the menu are not in English, but the bonus film is in English.

Filmed by Hugo van Lawick and Matt Aeberhard
Produced & directed by Hugo van Lawick for Nature Conservation Films (1998)
Music by Laurens van Rooyen.


Region:             Region 2 (UK, Europe, etc)

Video format:     PAL

Sound:              Dolby Digital 2.0

Language:         Dutch, English ('The Waiting Game' only)

Subtitles:          None

Extras:             Bonus film: 'The Waiting Game' (23 mins) - behind the scenes with Hugo and his team, includes some incredible footage of a crocodile snatching a gazelle

Screen size:      Wide screen (16:9)

Duration:           1 hour 42 mins approx (incl bonus film)



This DVD is produced in PAL video format (UK/Europe/etc). Buyers in the USA, Canada, Japan and other regions should check compatibility with their equipment before purchasing this DVD. If in doubt, please contact us.

Write Review
Your Name:

Your Review: Note: HTML is not translated!

Rating: Bad            Good

Enter the code in the box below:

There are no additional images for this product.